2019/20 Charges Review

22-Mar-2019
2019/20 Charges Review

Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council will be abolished on 01/04/19 and East Suffolk council formed, but we will remain Suffolk Coastal Port Health Authority. Any cheque payments made to us for our services will need to continue to be made payable to Suffolk Coastal Port Health Authority or SCPHA. Please follow guidance issued by East Suffolk Council for payments being made to any other part of the Council.

The review of our charges has now been completed for the 2019/20 financial period. Although we have been able to avoid charge increases outside of minimum charge changes for several years, the uncertainty of the UK’s exit from Europe has made it extremely difficult to determine at what level our charges need to be set to ensure we can deliver an efficient service in an ever changing environment. It is with this in mind that we have followed the councils fees and charging principles and increased charges approximately in line with the RPI rate as at June 2018 (the Council reference point). The new charges detailed below apply to consignments arriving or work undertaken on or after 1/4/19. Ship Sanitation Inspection charges have already been published separately. 

Due to the current uncertainty with regard to the requirements after the UK leaves the EU, SCPHA will continue to monitor the situation and may have to review the charging schedule before the next annual review. If any changes are required we will provide appropriate notification. 

The charge for the verification of organic consignments is set nationally by DEFRA and the Association of Port Health Authorities, this has not changed and remains at £45 per organic certificate.  

The cost of microbiological water sampling has fallen as Public Health England now recommends 3 tests to assess the quality of ships water. The two colony counts which were previously reported will no longer be reported on. Subsequently this test and the overall cost is now less. 

The new charges are detailed below.

Products of Animal Origin

Current Charge Charge from 1/4/19
Minimum charge 
(up to 6 tonnes)
£49.36 £51.25
7-46 tonnes (per tonne) £8.07 £8.50
Maximum charge
(46+ tonnes)
£376.91 £389.75

 

Products of Animal Origin from New Zealand


Current Charge Charge from 1/4/19
Minimum charge
(up to 6 tonnes)
£38.26 £39.75
7-46 tonnes (per tonne) £6.26 £6.50
Maximum charge
(46+ tonnes)
£292.55 £302.50

 

High Risk Products - CED charges

Current Charge Charge from 1/4/19
Documentary check £52.09 £54.00
Physical check  with £71.07 + analytical costs £73.50 + analytical costs
Physical check with 10 - 59 sub samples £96.10 + analytical costs £99.50 + analytical costs
Physical check with >59 sub samples £129.91 + analytical costs £134.50 + analytical costs
Non-compliant charge £114.80 £118.75

 

Plastic Kitchenware charges

Current Charge Charge from 1/4/19
Documentary check 1 - 5 analytical certificates £44.66 £46.25
Documentary check 6 - 10 analytical certificates £59.69 £61.75
Documentary check 11 - 20 analytical certificates £82.23 £85.00
Documentary check 21+ analytical certificates £104.77 £108.50
Identity check, physical check and sampling £67.32 + analytical costs £69.75 + analytical costs
Non-compliant charge £114.80 £118.75

 

Catch Certification charges

Current Charge
(High Risk / Low Risk)
High Risk / Low Risk charge from 1/4/19
1 - 5 certificates £45.00 / £22.50 £46.50 / £23.25
6 - 10 certificates £67.50 / £39.00 £70.00 / £40.50
11 - 20 certificates £78.75 / £51.00 £81.50 / £52.75
21+ certificates £90.00 / £62.00 £93.25 / £64.25
Formal verification / Movement control £90.00 £93.25
Non-Compliant IUU £90.00 £93.25

 

Water Sampling charges

Current Charge Charge from 1/4/19
Water samples (micro) - first sample £93.43 £88.00
Subsequent samples from the same vessel £52.08 £44.00
Legionella samples £119.03 (first)
£74.80 (subsequent)
£123.25 (first)
£77.25 (subsequent)


Laboratory charges

FERA who undertake our veterinary residue analysis and Public Analyst Scientific Services and Kent Scientific who undertake the majority of the rest of our sampling have confirmed that their charges will be increasing by around 3%. 

Public Health England charges are increasing by approximately 2%. 

CEFAS who undertake checks for radiation on Japanese products will be imposing a 5% increase.

We are yet to receive confirmation of any increase being applied to pesticide analysis costs by Concept Life Sciences but our expectation is that this will also increase by 3% in line with other analysis rises.





Jargon Buster Search

... read the full list here